Add Snippet

Peter Samp Award

Peter Samp (Coach Peter) was a member of the AKC Holy Mackerels swim team since he was 8 years old. Peter was also a Junior Coach of the swim team the summer of 2007 & 2008. In 2008, Peter graduated from St. Anselm’s Abbey School in Washington, D.C., where he participated in the “It’s Academic” program, earned a perfect score on his SAT and accumulated 13 Advanced Placement credits. He was taking a year off to work as a sports writer for the Montgomery County Gazette, but was planning to attend Harvard University that fall. He died suddenly of hydrocephalus after a brain cyst he had since birth became dislodged. He was only 18 years old.

To honor Peter, the Holy Mackerels dedicated their 2009 season to his memory. Before each race, team members make a point to say a prayer for him. The team hung an orange flag with the regular blue and white backstroke flags above the pool and hooked a keychain with Peter’s name on it to a lane line, to keep him in the water with them. His loss continues to be deeply felt by the swim team.

The Peter Samp Award was created in his memory to honor the passion he exhibited for life including his ability to work hard and give 100 percent his swimming skills and other activities.The award is given to an outstanding swimmer who is committed to the team and driven to succeed in and out of the water. The winners of the “Peter Samp Award” are:

2009 - Philip Allen

2010 - John Sullivan

2011 - Meaghan Galvin

2012 - Madeline Smerchansky

2013 - Connor Hennessey-Niland

2014 - Aidan Hennessey-Niland

2015 -

2016 - Matthew Zischkau

2017 --

2018 -- Zach Rosenthal

2019 -- Alex Khlopin

Text Area
Simple formatted text
Delete Edit_snippet
Add Snippet