Add Snippet

Christine M. Anderson Award

Christine M. Anderson (Coach Christine) was a member of the AKC Holy Mackerels swim team for many years. She was a record holder in several relay events and received the Coach’s Award in 1986 (when she was 11) and in 1991(when she was 16). Her a cappella rendition of the National Anthem graced every Saturday morning swim meet. Christine was the Assistant Coach of the swim team the summer of 1994. She was tragically killed in 1995 in an automobile accident when she was hit by a driver who was under the influence of alcohol. Her loss was deeply felt by the swim team.

The Christine Anderson Award was created as a memory to the character and personality that she personified during her years as a member of the Holy Mackerels and as a coach. This award is not about being the fastest swimmer. It is about being a team player, exhibiting team spirit, mentoring younger swimmers, being enthusiastic not only for winning but also for those whose dreams might have been bigger than reality. It is about getting excited for ourselves, our team accomplishments, and for building character through example, word, and action. The following individuals have received this annual award:

1995--Jamie Fitzgerald

1996--Andra Eglitis

1997--Victoria Landry

1998--Caroline Heeter

1999--Megan Piepenburg

2000--Patrick Rainey

2001--Lloyd Pierson

2002--Maura Cassidy

2003--Christina Meden

2004--Jessica Walczak

2005-- Phil Kiko, Jr.

2006--Sarah Brundage

2007-- Peter Samp

2008-- Leah Stricker

2009--Hilary Stetekluh

2010 -- Nick Beirne

2011 -- Meghan Dalbec

2012 --Aubrey Metcalfe

2013 -- Jake Smerchansky

2014 -- Kendra Metcalfe

2015 --

2016 -- Amy Butler

2017 -- 

2018 -- Lucy Khlopin

2019 -- Liberty Metcalfe

Text Area
Simple formatted text
Delete Edit_snippet
Add Snippet